Page 1

NEW SEWICKLEY TOWNSHIP

REORGANIZATION MEETING

January 4, 2021

The annual reorganization meeting of the Board of Supervisors, held at the Township Municipal Building, was called to order by Chairman Greg Happ at 6:30 P.M. Present were Vice-Chairman Tom Applequist, Supervisors Fritz Retsch and Mike Phipps. Also present were Manager Walter Beighey, Secretary Patricia Pfaff, Treasurer Elois Nadzak, Administrative Assistant Lawrie Borgman, Township Engineer Shawn Wingrove, Police Chief Ron Leindecker, Road Foreman R.J. Kraus, Albert E. Horn, Johnny Murtha, Brian Perry, P.J. Moldovan and Amy Moldovan

ABSENT: Supervisor Martin

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The meeting was turned over to Manager Beighey, temporary Chairman, to accept nominations for the position of Chairman of the Board for the year 2021.

Happ by Retsch

Roll call for Happ: Applequist Yes, Retsch Yes, and Phipps Yes. Vote of 4 to 0 in favor for Happ as Chairman.

Chairman Happ asked for nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Board.

Applequist by Happ

Roll call for Applequist: Happ Yes, Retsch Yes, Phipps Yes. Vote of 4 to 0 in favor for Applequist as Vice Chairman.

A motion was made by Happ, seconded by Applequist, for the appointment or reappointment of the following positions in the Township, with a vote of 4-0 in favor.

Treasurer's Bond - Recommendation to the auditors that the Treasurers bond be set at \$1,250,000.00.

Solicitor - Lope, Casker & Casker with Chris Reese as representatives.

Engineer - Lennon Smith Souleret Engineering with Kevin Brett and Shawn Wingrove as representatives.

Manager - Walter Beighey Jr

Depository - WesBanco and Freedom United Credit Union.

Roadmaster - All five Supervisors.

A motion was made by Applequist, seconded by Retsch, for the appointment or reappointment of the following township employees, with a vote of 4-0 in favor.

Full Time Secretary - Patricia Pfaff

Full Time Treasurer - Elois Nadzak

Full Time Police Secretary - Christine Ziter

Full Time Administrative Assistant - Lawrie Borgman

Full Time Chief of Police - Ron Leindecker

Full Time Sergeants - Daniel Swab and Timothy Gatehouse

Full Time Corporals - Greg Carney and Tim Sovich

Full Time Detective - Gregory Pullen

Full Time Patrolmen - Keith Haburjak, Tom Liberty, Richard Jones, James Kopaz

Part Time Patrolmen - Jeff Lizzi, Samantha Vinson, Chayme Chunchick, Ethan Fuchs, Darryl Webb, Jacob Moldovan, Herman Sayre and Davranbek Sayfatov

Crime Watch Officer - James Kopaz

School Resource Officer - Tom Liberty

Full Time Road Department - Foreman - R.J. Kraus
 Equip Operators - Bill Burr and Tom Milligan
 Truck Driver/Labor- Paul Moehrle and
 Calvin Steffler

Appointed Tax Collector - Samantha Sharpless (LST and MS4 Fees)

Deputy Tax Collector - Kelly Bitzer

Part Time Park Employee - Robie Barkley

A motion was made by Happ, seconded by Retsch, for the appointment or reappointment of the following, with a vote of 4-0 in favor.

Services:

Animal Control - Beaver County Humane Society
Sewage Enforcement Officer - Currently Jeffrey Winkle, alternate Michael
Groves
Planning Consultant - Leonnon, Smith, Souleret Engineering, Inc.

Page 3

Building Inspector - Currently MDIA

Cert/state of Convention Delegates - Five Supervisors, Manager, Secretary, Treasurer and Road Department

Voting Delegate at State Convention (April 18th-April 21st) - Applequist

Open Records Officers - Township Lawrie Borgman and Police Department Chief Of Police

Representative of Beaver County Urban and Housing Development - Retsch

Representative of Council of Governments (COG) - Primary Representative, Greq Happ and **Alternate** - Tom Applequist

Vacancy Board - All seated Supervisors and Dennis Goehring

Police Grievance Supervisor - Chairman of Police Committee

Planning Commission - One Four Year Term - Ed Eisenbrown

Recreation Board - One Five Year Term - Lisa Bauman

Zoning Hearing Board - One Three Year Term - Martin Bonzo

Municipal Authority - One Five Year Term - Jay Parks

Agricultural Security Area Advisory Committee -Chairman - Applequist Alternate - Retsch Members: Daniel Brenner, Brian Leonberg, Michael Lewis and Bryan Yeck

A motion was made by Applequist, seconded by Happ, to approve the following, with a vote of 4-0 in favor.

Meeting Nights:

Supervisors Regular Meeting - First Tuesday of each month at 6:30

Workshop Meetings - Second Tuesday of each month at 6:30 P.M. if needed

Additional Workshops - October 19th and 26th, November 9th, 16th and 23rd at 6:30 P.M. if needed

Agenda Meetings for Discussion - Tuesday prior to regular meeting at 6:30 P.M.

Next Supervisors Meeting - February 2, 2021, at 6:30 P.M. and the last meeting of the year December 28, 2021, at 6:30 P.M.

Fee Schedule - Approve the 2021 fee scheduled as submitted

Board Committees - Chairman Happ to set Board Committees prior to next meeting

Police Pension Actuary - Cowden & Associates

A motion was made by Applequist, seconded by Phipps, to approve all the following, with a vote of 4-0 in favor.

WAGES/SALARIES/BENEFITS

Full-time employees - The following wages, salaries & benefits are covered by agreements for the Police Chief, Police Bargaining Unit and Road Department

Police Chief - \$89,174.86 Annual Salary

Full Time Sergeant - \$73,685.16 Annual Salary

Full Time Corporal - \$72,085.16 Annual Salary

Full Time Senior Patrolman - \$70,485.16 Annual Salary

Full Time 4th year Patrolman - \$66,960.90 Annual Salary

Full Time 3rd year Patrolman - \$63,436.64 Annual Salary

Full Time 2nd year Patrolman - \$59,912.39 Annual Salary

Full Time 1st year Patrolman - \$56,388.13 Annual Salary

Full Time Probationary Patrolman - \$52,863.87 Annual Salary

Part Time Patrol Officer - \$19.66 per hour worked, \$29.49 per hour worked on Holiday and overtime

Full Time Road Department - Foreman \$29.33 per hour worked Equipment Operator - \$28.33 per hour worked Driver/Laborer \$27.83 per hour worked

Full Time wages for Office Administration

Manager Walter Beighey - \$70,000.00

Secretary Patricia Pfaff - \$49,961.60

Treasurer Elois Nadzak - \$44,470.40

Full Time Police Secretary Christine Ziter - \$17.00

Full Time Administrative Assistant Lawrie Borgman - \$17.00

Part Time Park Employee Robie Barkley - \$15.00

Page 5

The following other Wages, Salaries & Benefits covered by agreement, schedules or policies

Solicitor - \$150.00 per hour

Engineer - Per fee contract

Roadmasters - To be set by Auditors (Currently-job classification, per agreement)

Police Outside Activities - Officers to be paid \$30.00 and an additional \$3.00 (\$33.00) to compensate the Township, and **Outside Work** the Officers to be paid \$60.00 and an additional \$5.00 (\$65.00) to compensate the Township

All other part time employees - Minimum wage \$7.25

Code Enforcement Officer Peggy Griffith - \$600.00 per month

Sewage Enforcement Officer and Planning Consultant - Per fee contracts

Animal Control Officer - Beaver County Humane Society per agreement

Recycling - Big Knob Livestock Club \$600.00 per quarter

Tax Collection - 5% LST Tax, 5% Fire Tax and \$1.25 MS4 fee per parcel, Property Tax 5% after it exceeds \$1,250,000.00 it is 3%

Mileage - To be paid in accordance with the 2021 IRS Allowance .56 per mile

Motion by Happ seconded by Applequist, to adjourn the reorganization meeting. Vote of 4 to 0 in favor. Meeting adjourned at 6:40 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Patricia Pfaff Secretary