NEW SEWICKLEY TOWNSHIP

REORGANIZATION MEETING

JANUARY 2, 2024

The annual reorganization meeting of the Board of Supervisors, held at the Township Municipal Building, was called to order by Vice-Chairman Doug Martin at 6:30 p.m. Present were Supervisors Martin Bonzo, Mike Phipps, Fritz Retsch and Steve Spade. Also present were Manager Ronald Leindecker, Treasurer Nicole Liston, Secretary Lawrie Borgman, Township Engineer Kevin Brett, Township Solicitor Chris Reese, Police Chief Gregory Carney, Road Foreman R.J. Kraus, Jenny Fessler, Albert Horn, David Bauman, Jim Hendrickson, Brian Perry, Greg Happ, Mike Loschinskey, Amanda Peterson, Larry Hough, Jim Scheck, Patti Gerhard, Lou Delebosich, Elois Nadzak, Jodie Spade, Julie Leindecker, Laura Dengel, and Tricia Barker

1. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

2/3. The Meeting was turned over to Manager Leindecker, temporary Chairman, to accept nominations for the position of Chairman of the Board for the year 2024:

Bonzo by Phipps, seconded by Retsch. Vote of 5-0 in favor.

4. Chairman Bonzo asked for nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Board.

Phipps by Retsch, no second

Martin by Bonzo, seconded by Phipps. Vote of 5-0 in favor.

5. Treasurer's Bond – Recommendation to the auditors that the Treasurers bond be set at \$1,250,000.00.

Motion by Phipps to set Treasurer's Bond at \$1,250,000.00, seconded by Retsch. Vote of 5-0 in favor.

A motion was made by Retsch, seconded by Phipps, for the appointment or reappointment of the following positions in the Township, with a vote of 5-0 in favor.

- 6. Solicitor Christopher Reese
- 7. Engineer Lennon, Smith, Souleret Engineering, Inc., Representative Kevin Brett
- 8. Manager Ronald Leindecker
- **9. Constable** Joe Lindsay
- 10. Township Auditor Greg Happ
- 11. Depository WesBanco and Freedom United Credit Union
- 12. Roadmasters All five Supervisors

A motion was made by Phipps, seconded by Retsch, for the appointment or reappointment of the following positions in the Township. Vote of 5-0 in favor.

- 13A. Full-Time Secretary Lawrie Borgman
- 13B. Full-Time Treasurer Nicole Liston
- 13C. Full-Time Police Secretary Christine Ziter
- 13D. Full-Time Chief of Police Gregory Carney
- 13E .Full-Time Sergeants Daniel Swab and Timothy Gatehouse
- **13F. Full-Time Detective** Samantha Vinson
- 13G. Full-Time Corporals Tim Sovich
- **13H. Full-Time Patrolmen** Keith Haburjak, Richard Jones, Gregory Pullen, James Kopaz, Ethan Fuchs, Marcus DeNapoli, Alexandra Lizzi, Jeremy Brown, and Sierra Cicilia "sic"
- 131. Part-Time Patrolmen None at this time
- 13J. Crime Watch Officer James Kopaz and Samantha Vinson
- 13K. School Resource Officers Gregory Pullen and Richard Jones
- **13L. Full-Time Road Department** Foreman Ronald Kraus; Equipment Operators Paul Moehrle, Calvin Steffler, Bradley Mutschler, and Matt Dietrich
- 13M. Tax Collector Samantha Sharpless for Local Service Tax (LST)
- **13N. Deputy Tax Collector** Kim Heitzenrater
- 130 .Park Employee Robie Barkley

A motion was made by Retsch, seconded by Phipps, for the appointment or reappointment of the following, with a vote of 5-0 in favor.

- 14. Emergency Management Coordinator James Scheck, P.J. Moldovan, and Ronald Leindecker
- 15. Animal Control Beaver County Humane Society
- 16. Sewage Enforcement Officer Jeffrey Winkle
- 17. Planning Consultant Lennon, Smith, Souleret Engineering, Inc.
- 18. Building Inspector and Code Inspector MDIA
- 19. Police Pension Actuary Cowden & Associates
- 20. Cert/State Convention/Delegates Five Supervisors, Manager, Secretary, Treasurer and Road Department
- **21. Voting Delegate for State Convention April 14**th **17**th Fritz Retsch

Motion was made by Martin, seconded by Retsch, for the appointment or reappointment of the following, with a vote of 5-0 in favor.

- 22. Open Records Officers Township Lawrie Borgman and Police Department Chief of Police
- 23. Representative for the Beaver County Urban & Housing Development Retsch
- **24.** Representative for the Upper Beaver Valley COG Primary Spade, Alternate Martin
- 25. Vacancy Board All five Supervisors and Dennis Goehring
- 26. Agricultural Security Area Advisory Committee Security -

Board Representative – Chairman - Martin and Alternate – Retsch

Members – Daniel Brenner, Brian Leonberg, Michael Lewis and Bryan Yeck

27. *Police Grievance Supervisor* – Chairman of the Police Committee

A motion was made by Retsch, seconded by Phipps to approve the following, with a vote of 5-0 in favor.

- **28. Planning Commission** Two 4 year terms Jenny Fessler and Albert Horn
- **29. Recreation Board** Two 5 year terms Sandra Phipps and Sam Landis
- 30. Zoning Hearing Board Two 3 year term Lynn Reinhardt and Neil Bonzo
- 31. Municipal Authority One 5 year term Larry Hough

Motion by Spade to Amend #35 (workshop w/manager) to include 6:30 pm as well as 9:00 am, seconded by Martin. Vote of 5-0 in favor.

A motion was made by Martin to approve the following with amendment notes above, seconded by Spade. Vote of 5-0 in favor

- 32. Supervisor's Regular Meeting Night First Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m.
- 33. Workshop Meetings Second Tuesday of each month at 9:00 a.m. or 6:30 p.m., as needed
- 34. Agenda Meeting The last Tuesday of the month at 6:30 p.m.
- **35.** Additional Workshops October 15th, 22nd and 29th; November 19th and 26th as needed; Workshops with the Manager the third Wednesday of each month at 9:00 a.m. or 6:30 p.m. as needed
- 36. Next Supervisor's Meeting February 6, 2024
- 37. Last Meeting of Year December 30, 2024
- 38. Fee Schedule Approve the 2024 fee schedule as submitted
- 39. Board Committees Chairman Bonzo to set the Board Committees prior to the next meeting

A motion by Retsch to approve the following, seconded by Martin, with a vote of 5-0 in favor.

40. Full-time Employees – The following wages, salaries and benefits are covered by agreements for the Police Chief, Police Bargaining Unit and Road Department

- 41. Manager/Zoning Officer Ronald Leindecker \$85,000 Annual Salary
- 42. Secretary Lawrie Borgman \$21.63 per hour
- 43. Treasurer Nicole Liston \$20.00 per hour
- 44. Full-Time Police Secretary Christine Ziter \$20.00 per hour
- 45. Part-Time Park Employee Robie Barkley- \$16.50 per hour
- 46. Solicitor \$150.00 per hour
- 47. Engineer Per fee contract
- 48. Roadmasters To be set by Auditors (currently-job classification, per agreement)
- **49. Police Outside Activities** Officers to be paid \$40.00 and an additional \$4.00 (\$44.00) to compensate the Township for outside activities, and for outside work the officers to be paid \$60.00 and an additional \$5.00 (\$65.00) to compensate the Township.
- 50. All Other Part Time Employees Minimum wage \$7.25
- 51. Code Enforcement Officer Peggy Griffith \$600.00 per month
- 52. Sewage Enforcement Officer and Planning Consultant Per fee contracts.
- 53. Animal Control Per agreement with Beaver County Humane Society
- **54. Pella Consulting** Per fee contract
- 55. Recycling Big Knob Livestock Club \$600.00 per quarter
- 56. Tax Collection LST 5%. Property tax and Fire Tax 5% after it exceeds \$1,250,000.00 it is 3%
- 57. Mileage IRS Allowance \$0.67
- 58. Jordan Tax Service MS4- Per agreement

A motion by Martin to adjourn the 2024 Reorganization meeting, seconded by Phipps. Vote of 5-0 in favor. Meeting adjourned at 6:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lawrie Borgman Secretary